Groups and People

Core Groups

14 research groups have been newly established since the founding of iDiv and work mostly at the iDiv core centre in Leipzig.

Core Professorships

Biodiversity and People
Prof Aletta Bonn, UFZ/Univ. of Jena

Biodiversity Conservation
Prof Henrique M Pereira, MLU

Biodiversity Economics
Prof Martin Quaas, UL

Biodiversity Synthesis
Prof Jonathan Chase, MLU

Experimental Interaction Ecology
Prof Nico Eisenhauer, UL

Molecular Interaction Ecology
Prof Nicole van Dam, Univ. of Jena

Physiological Diversity
Prof Stan Harpole, UFZ/MLU

Species Interaction Ecology
Prof Tiffany Knight, MLU/UFZ

Theory in Biodiversity Science
Prof Ulrich Brose, Univ. of Jena


Junior Research Groups

Evolution and Adaptation
Dr Renske Onstein, UL

Evolutionary Ecology
Dr Omer Nevo, Univ. of Jena

Symbiont Evolution
Dr Michael Gerth, MLU

Central Management

Research at iDiv is supported by the Central Management units.

sDiv Synthesis Centre
Dr Marten Winter

yDiv Graduate School & Postdoc Programme
Dr Nicole Sachmerda-Schulz

Scientific Networks
Dr Jan Schnitzler

Leonie Friedrich

Media and Communications
Dr Volker Hahn

Scientific Events
Kati Kietzmann

Central Services
Anna Burnett

IT Support / HPC
Sebastian Eulau

Senior Scientists Programme

The iDiv Senior Scientist Programme aims to promote career paths for outstanding experienced researchers.

Dr Susanne Dunker

Dr Carsten Meyer

Dr Nadja Rüger

Dr Chloé Schmidt

Dr Roel van Klink

iDiv Members

iDiv has more than 150 members who work with their research groups at various locations, mainly in Central Germany.

List of all iDiv members


Sabbatical researchers play an important role in contributing to the iDiv mission through their intellectual and social interactions.

More about iDiv’s sabbatical programme


Share this site on:
iDiv is a research centre of theDFG Logo