Daily business is run by the iDiv Speakers.


Science Strategy Board (SSB)

The Science Strategy Board is iDiv’s central governance and decision-making body. It is, in particular, in charge of conception, coordination and implementation of the scientific programme; it coordinates and fosters the scientific integration of iDiv. Members of the Science Strategy Board are suggested by the General Member Assembly and appointed or dismissed by the Board of Trustees. For details see section 9 in the bylaws of iDiv.

Current members of the Science Strategy Board are:

  • Prof Aletta Bonn
  • Prof Ulrich Brose
  • Prof Helge Bruehlheide (vice-chair)
  • Prof Jonathan Chase
  • Prof Nico Eisenhauer
  • Prof Claudia Fricke
  • Dr Michael Gerth
  • Prof Stan Harpole
  • Prof Frank Hellwig
  • Dr Jens Kattge
  • Prof Tiffany Knight
  • Prof Ingolf Kühn
  • Dr Martin Mascher
  • Prof Alexandra Müllner-Riehl
  • Prof Henrique Pereira
  • Prof Christine Römermann
  • Prof Martin Quaas (chair)
  • Prof. Holger Schielzeth
  • Prof Christian Wirth
  • Dr Marten Winter

Speaker Board (SB) and Speaker

The Speaker Board implements the decisions of the Science Strategy Board and manages operations at iDiv. The Speaker and the three Co-Speakers of the Speaker Board are suggested by the Science Strategy Board and appointed or dismissed by the Board of Trustees. The Speaker reports to the Board of Trustees, the Science Strategy Board, the Speaker Board and to funding institutions. For details see section 10 in the bylaws of iDiv.

Current members of the Speaker Board are:

General Member Assembly (GMA)

The General Member Assembly may address all issues related to iDiv’s aims and objectives and make recommendations to the Science Strategy Board. In addition, it has the right to suggest the members of the Science Strategy Board, the members of the Scientific Advisory Board and honorary members.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees supports and supervises the Speaker Board and the Science Strategy Board and fulfils further tasks according to these bylaws.

The Board of Trustees comprises of:

  1. the rectors/presidents of the three involved universities,
  2. one additional member of the rectorate or the presidential board of each of the involved universities,
  3. the Scientific Manager and the Administrative Manager of the UFZ, and
  4. one designated representative of the ministry of science from each of the involved federal states.

Scientific Advisory Board (SAB)

The Scientific Advisory Board makes recommendations and comments on the thematic and structural development of iDiv. This concerns, in particular, the establishment of new research fields and the focus and structure of iDiv’s research programme.

The Scientific Advisory Board evaluates the development of iDiv every two years. 

Members of the Scientific Advisory Board:

Ray Callaway
University of Montana

Bill Fagan
University of Maryland

Paul Leadley
Université Paris-Sud

Michel Loreau
Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS)

David Schimel
California Institute of Technology

Bernhard Schmid
University of Zurich

Marie Stenseke
University of Gothenburg

Diana H. Wall 
Colorado State University

Executive Committees and Boards

Executive committees and boards are appointed by the SSB to support its work.

These are among others:

Committee / boardChair / co-chair(s)
Core Centre Committee (CCC)Prof Nico Eisenhauer, Kati Kietzmann
Equal Opportunity Committee (EOC)Prof Ulrich Brose
Female Career Fund Committee (FCF)Dr Ute Jandt, Prof Kirsten Küsel, Prof Alexandra Weigelt
Flexpool BoardDr Steffen Neumann
Green House CommitteeProf Alexandra Weigelt
iDiv CouncilProf Stan Harpole 
iDiv Ecotron BoardProf Nico Eisenhauer
iDiv Sabbatical BoardProf Stan Harpole
Membership CommitteeDr Jens Kattge
Mental Health Committee 
Media and Communications CommitteeProf Henrique Pereira
Prize CommitteeProf Nico Eisenhauer
Science-Policy CommitteeProf Aletta Bonn
sDiv BoardProf Karin Frank, Prof Jonathan Chase
Seminar Series CommitteeDr Sreetama Bhadra
Senior Scientist CommitteeProf Martin Quaas
Strategic Projects & Support Units CommitteeProf Jonathan Chase
yDiv BoardProf Martin Quaas
Share this site on:
iDiv is a research centre of theDFG Logo