Groups and People

Core Groups

13 research groups have been newly established since the founding of iDiv and work mostly at the iDiv core centre in Leipzig.

Biodiversity Conservation
Prof Henrique M Pereira, MLU

Biodiversity Economics
Prof Martin Quaas, UL

Biodiversity Synthesis
Prof Jonathan Chase, MLU

Ecosystem Services
Prof Aletta Bonn, UFZ/FSU

Evolution and Adaptation
Dr Renske Onstein, UL

Evolutionary and Anthropocene Ecology
Dr Hjalmar Kühl, MPI EVA

Evolutionary Ecology
Dr Omer Nevo, FSU

Experimental Interaction Ecology
Prof Nico Eisenhauer, UL

Macroecology and Society
Dr Carsten Meyer, UL

Molecular Interaction Ecology
Prof Nicole van Dam, FSU

Physiological Diversity
Prof Stan Harpole, UFZ/MLU

Spatial Interaction Ecology
Prof Tiffany Knight, MLU/UFZ

Theory in Biodiversity Science
Prof Ulrich Brose, FSU

Central Management

Research at iDiv is supported by the Central Management units.

sDiv Synthesis Centre
Dr Marten Marten

yDiv Graduate School & Postdoc Programme
Dr Nicole Sachmerda-Schulz

Scientific Coordination

Dr Andrea Perino

Media and Communications
Dr Volker Hahn

Central Services
Dr Sabine Matthiä

IT Support / HPC
Sebastian Eulau

iDiv Members

iDiv has more than 100 members who work with their research groups at various locations, mainly in Central Germany.

List of all iDiv members


Sabbatical researchers play an important role in contributing to the iDiv mission through their intellectual and social interactions.

More about iDiv’s sabbatical programme


Share this site on:
iDiv is a research centre of theDFG Logo