Daily business is run by the iDiv Speakers.


Science Strategy Board (SSB)

The Science Strategy Board is iDiv’s central governance and decision-making body. It is, in particular, in charge of conception, coordination and implementation of the scientific programme; it coordinates and fosters the scientific integration of iDiv. Members of the Science Strategy Board are suggested by the General Member Assembly and appointed or dismissed by the Board of Trustees. For details see section 9 in the bylaws of iDiv.

Current members of the Science Strategy Board are:

  • Prof Aletta Bonn (chair)
  • Prof Ulrich Brose
  • Prof Helge Bruelheide
  • Prof Jonathan Chase
  • Prof Nico Eisenhauer
  • Prof Ivo Grosse
  • Prof Stan Harpole
  • Dr Jens Kattge
  • Prof Tiffany Knight
  • Prof Ingolf Kühn
  • Prof Kirsten Küsel
  • Dr Sabine Matthiä (in advisory capacity)
  • Prof Alexandra Muellner-Riehl (vice chair)
  • Dr Steffen Neumann
  • Dr Carsten Meyer
  • Prof Henrique M Pereira
  • Prof Christine Römermann
  • Prof Martin Quaas (vice chair)
  • Prof Nicole van Dam
  • Dr Marten Winter
  • Prof Christian Wirth

Speaker Board (SB) and Speaker

The Speaker Board implements the decisions of the Science Strategy Board and manages operations at iDiv. The Speaker and the three Co-Speakers of the Speaker Board are suggested by the Science Strategy Board and appointed or dismissed by the Board of Trustees. The Speaker reports to the Board of Trustees, the Science Strategy Board, the Speaker Board and to funding institutions. For details see section 10 in the bylaws of iDiv.

Current members of the Speaker Board are:

General Member Assembly (GMA)

The General Member Assembly may address all issues related to iDiv’s aims and objectives and make recommendations to the Science Strategy Board. In addition, it has the right to suggest the members of the Science Strategy Board, the members of the Scientific Advisory Board and honorary members.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees supports and supervises the Speaker Board and the Science Strategy Board and fulfils further tasks according to these bylaws.

The Board of Trustees comprises of:

  1. the rectors/presidents of the three involved universities,
  2. one additional member of the rectorate or the presidential board of each of the involved universities,
  3. the Scientific Manager and the Administrative Manager of the UFZ, and
  4. one designated representative of the ministry of science from each of the involved federal states.

Scientific Advisory Board (SAB)

The Scientific Advisory Board makes recommendations and comments on the thematic and structural development of iDiv. This concerns, in particular, the establishment of new research fields and the focus and structure of iDiv’s research programme.

The Scientific Advisory Board evaluates the development of iDiv every two years. 

Members of the Scientific Advisory Board:

Ray Callaway
University of Montana

Bill Fagan
University of Maryland

Paul Leadley
Université Paris-Sud

Michel Loreau
Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS)

David Schimel
California Institute of Technology

Bernhard Schmid
University of Zurich

Marie Stenseke
University of Gothenburg

Diana H. Wall
Colorado State University

Executive Committees and Boards

Executive committees and boards are appointed by the SSB to support its work.

These are among others:

Committee / boardChair / co-chair(s)
Core Centre Committee (CCC)Dr Marten Winter
Equal Opportunity Committee (EOC)Prof Ulrich Brose
Female Scientist Career Fund Committee (FSCFC)Prof Ute Jandt, Prof Kirsten Küsel, Prof Nicole van Dam
iDiv Council 
iDiv Ecotron CommitteeProf Nico Eisenhauer
iDiv Sabbatical BoardProf Stan Harpole
Green House CommitteeProf Alexandra Weigelt
Membership CommitteeProf Jens Kattge
Mental Health CommitteeProf Nicole van Dam
Permanent Flexpool Board (FP Board)Prof Antonis Chatzinotas
Science-Policy CommitteeProf Aletta Bonn
Science Prizes CommitteeProf Nico Eisenhauer
sDiv BoardProf Karin Frank, Prof Jonathan Chase
Seminar Series CommitteeDr Diana Bowler
Strategic Projects & Support Units CommitteeProf Jonathan Chase
yDiv BoardProf Martin Quaas
Share this site on:
iDiv is a research centre of theDFG Logo